in

WhatsApp, so you can delete your account on Android and iOS

Do you not agree with the new terms and conditions that WhatsApp recently updated? Many users chose not to accept them but the consequence is that they will not be able to continue using this messaging application.

If this is your case and you want to delete your WhatsApp account to migrate to another application, we will tell you how you can do it on Android and iOS, you just have to follow these steps to achieve it, so have your cell phone at hand.

So you can delete your WhatsApp account. Photo: Pixabay How to delete your account The first thing you should do is enter WhatsApp settings and click on the « Account » option. You must choose the option « Delete account ». At this point the application will ask you to confirm that you want to delete your account, you must enter your mobile number with the code of your country. WhatsApp will ask you to indicate the reason why you want to delete your account. Finally, it will ask you for the third time to confirm that you want to delete your account, you must be aware that by doing so you will lose the data and the backups you have made in Google Drive.

Now, if you don’t have your cell phone at hand and you want to deactivate your account temporarily, you can send an email to support@whatsapp.com, in the subject you must put « Phone stolen / lost: Please deactivate my account ».

In this case, the account will be deactivated for a period of 30 days, if after that period you do not log in again, it will be permanently deleted. If you want to try another messaging application, deactivating WhatsApp for a few days can be a good option when you make a decision.

Why delete your WhatsApp account

The reason why many people are choosing to use other messaging applications is that WhatsApp recently updated its terms and conditions, which was not very well accepted by many.

Among the new rules is that now you can collect personal data, such as contacts, profile photos, when was your last connection, as well as the content of chats; all this information may be provided to Facebook, in order to « improve, correct and personalize our services, as well as connect them with the products of Facebook companies », as indicated by the application.

It is important to emphasize that those who do not accept the new terms and conditions will not be able to continue using WhatsApp, so it is practically mandatory to do so.

For more current information, follow our home page and we especially recommend you keep up to date with our Technology section.