About a month and a half ago it started the latest controversy related to WhatsApp. At the beginning of January the company began to display a message informing its users of changes in the data transfer policy to Facebook. Although these changes will not be applied in the European Union and the United Kingdom, and in addition the company has insisted several by active and passive that there has been a problem in communication, and that there will not really be any data transfer between WhatsApp and Facebook, Reactions to the contrary occurred very quickly, both in the form of users making the leap to other services and countries pressing against change.
As a result, WhatsApp decided to delay their application for three months, a time that it said it would dedicate to communicate adequately what these changes translate into or, to be more exact, to clarify that the privacy of the users will not be compromised with this change. Among the fundamental points, the company points out that chats will continue to be encrypted end-to-end, that neither it nor Facebook can see shared locations and that WhatsApp does not share users’ contacts with Facebook. And of course, neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can read the messages sent through the service or listen to the calls.
During this month and a half, and in view of the great reaction against it, one of the theories that has floated in the air has been that Facebook finally backed down and did not apply the new policies on WhatsApp, or that it postponed to medium or long term your arrival. However, and as we can read on the service’s questions and answers website, it does not seem that it will be like that, and they are even getting to know each other. details on how WhatsApp will proceed with users who do not accept the new terms. This is what we can read there:
To give you plenty of time to review the changes at your own pace and convenience, we have extended the effective date to May 15. If you didn’t accept them by then, WhatsApp won’t delete your account. However, you will not have access to all WhatsApp features until you accept them. For a short period, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the application.
You have the following options:
You will be able to accept updates even after May 15. Our inactive user policy will apply. Before May 15, you can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report from your account. If you want to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we would really like you to reconsider. This action is something that we cannot reverse, as it clears your message history, removes you from all your WhatsApp groups, and also removes your backups. If you need help downloading your account report or deleting your account, you can contact us here.
So, from what we can see, accounts that do not accept the terms will be left in a kind of no man’s land, since they will remain active (as long as their users continue to log in at least once every 120 days), but they will not be able to access its functions. Specifically, during the first weeks, they will be able to receive calls and see notifications, but the basic function of the service, that is, instant text messaging, will stop working for them.
This change will take place from May 15 And, for the moment, WhatsApp has not yet given a concrete definition of how long these users will be able to access the functions that I have indicated before. Talking about weeks like this, in a generic way, suggests that probably not even the company itself is clear about it yet, and it is most likely that they will make that decision based on the volume of users who finally accept the new policies.
Whether you are affected by the new policies and do not want to accept them, or if it is not the case but this has made you consider the possibility of making the leap from WhatsApp to another service, here we tell you seven alternatives to WhatsApp for the most concerned users for your privacy.