the Santander League collapses and Bayern Munich wipe out up to nine candidates

UEFA has announced the 50 candidates for the Team of the Year. A list of players in which there is only one representative of Real Madrid, the captain Sergio Ramos. The one from Beds is one of the four Spaniards that appear among the candidates, along with Juan Bernat, Thiago Alcantara Y Angelino.

For its part, the Spanish League collapses against the Premier League and the Bundesliga: five representatives of the Santander League compared to the fourteen and thirteen of those with the most candidates, the English and German competition respectively. Jan Oblak, Sergio Ramos himself, Éver Banega (who left Sevilla in the summer), Leo Messi and Joao Félix are the five candidates for the Spanish league championship.

In terms of teams, Bayern Munich, reigning Champions League champions, has once again demonstrated its potential with nine candidates: Neuer, Alaba, Alphonso Davies, Kimmich, Coman, Muller, Goretzka, Lewandowski and Gnabry, without counting on a Thiago who was transferred to Liverpool. Many of them are huge favorites for a spot in the UEFA eleven of the year.


Alisson becker, Anthony Lopes, Keylor Navas, Manuel Neuer Y Jan Oblak They are the five nominees in goal to sneak into UEFA’s 2020 squad. The great novelty is the absence of Thibaut Courtois, Real Madrid goalkeeper who is going through the best moment of his career, and the presence of Anthony Lopes. The 30-year-old Olympique de Lyon goalkeeper had a spectacular season last year. For its part, Manuel Neuer starts as a favorite to become the goalkeeper chosen in the best eleven of the year.


15 nominees in defense: David Alaba, Alexander-Arnold, Angeliño, Bernat, Alphonso Davies, De Ligt, De Vrij, Hateboer, Kimmich, Kimpembe, Sergio Ramos, Robertson, Thiago Silva, Upamecano and Van Dijk. The good news is the presence of three Spaniards like Ramos, Angeliño and Bernat, two left backs from Leipzig and Paris Saint-Germain respectively entering for the first time in their careers among the nominees for the best eleven of the year. Protagonism for Bayern Munich and Liverpool, which accumulate three candidates each.


Fifteen other nominees in a position in which we cannot find a single player currently playing in the Santander League, although a Ever Banega that shone last season in Seville. Aouar, Banega himself, Barella, Coman, De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Papu Gómez, Goretzka, Henderson, Ilicic, Marquinhos, Muller, Sabitzer and the Spanish Thiago Alcántara are the nominees. Bayern Munich is in command again, with a total of four players on the roster including a Thiago who has been traded to Liverpool in the summer.


Not a single Spanish player and two from the Santander League among the fifteen forwards nominated to be part of the eleven of the year. Di María, Joao Félix, Gnabry, Haaland, Inmobile, Kane, Lewandowski, Lukaku, Mané, Mbappé, Messi, Neymar, Cristiano Ronaldo, Salah and Sterling are the players nominated in this demarcation. As a curiosity, Ronaldo has been nominated for 17 consecutive years and in fourteen of them he entered the eleven. For its part, Messi is nominated for the 15th time and could be part of the eleven of the year for the twelfth time.