Spain imposes quarantine on passengers from Brazil and South Africa | World | America Edition

Spain will impose a quarantine for passengers from Brazil and South Africa arriving in the country, in order to prevent the spread of new variants of coronavirus.

Quarantine will be mandatory for all people arriving at any Spanish airport from Brazil and South Africa (origin or stopover) during the ten days after arrival, which will be seven if the passenger undergoes a diagnostic test for active infection to rule out the virus and gives negative, reported this Wednesday the Spanish Minister of Health, Carolina Darias.

These passengers must remain in their homes and will not be able to meet with third parties, according to the new order of the Ministry of Health that is complementary to those already in force such as the restriction of flights from the United Kingdom, Brazil and South Africa, as well as the requirement of results negative of a diagnostic test carried out 72 hours before the trip.

So far, according to Darias, a total of 613 confirmed cases of the British variant of covid-19, six from the South African, and two from the Brazilian have been detected in Spain.

Darias stressed that the decision of the Spanish Government is to protect the health of citizens and stop the spread of the virus.

To this end, the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs also updates the list of countries for which Spain requires a negative PCR test to enter its territory every fortnight.

The Latin American countries that must comply with this measure are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Paraguay and Uruguay.

Travelers from Puerto Rico also have to comply with this requirement, according to the list of the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Since last November 23, Spain requires a negative PCR for passengers entering by air or sea from countries at risk for coronavirus, a test that has to be performed 72 hours before arrival.

The list of countries has been changing since then and now the requirement is extended at least until the 21st of this month.

The criteria to be included in this relationship are having a cumulative incidence greater than 150 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in fourteen days, that there is reciprocity of diagnostic tests, and other epidemiological considerations.

These conditions are for third countries, that is, not included in the European Union or the European Economic Area, since for these the criteria are established by the EU.

The list of countries or risk zones is reviewed every fifteen days and the revision updates are effective seven days after its publication, so that transport companies, travel agencies and tour operators can make the necessary adjustments.

Spain registered 337 deaths from covid-19 in the last 24 hours, almost half of those notified a week ago, according to data provided this Wednesday by the Ministry of Health, which also point to a new decrease in infections, 10,829 since yesterday.

Since the beginning of the pandemic, the number of people affected by the disease in Spain has risen to 3,107,172, while the deceased have now reached 66,316, according to figures provided by the health authorities.