San Lorenzo beats Liniers in Mar del Plata for the Argentine Cup

It took only seven minutes for San Lorenzo mark differences before Liniers, in the match for the 32nd final of the Argentine Cup, which takes place at the stadium José María Minella, from Mar del Plata. Boedo’s team opened the scoring by Alexander Diaz, after a center Fabricio Coloccini where the ball could not be controlled by the defender Thiago Monzon and the azulgrana forward capitalized on the instance. With this both those led by Diego Dabove they send 1 to 0.

Although from the first minute Díaz himself had a clear chance that was contained by the goalkeeper of the promotion team, Ignacio Diaz Peyrous. After five minutes, the First D team responded that they had a chance with the forward Franco Mendez, but his shot was deflected to the corner kick by the goalkeeper Jose Devecchi. Diaz’s goal for the Cyclone came immediately.

At 12 minutes Liniers had another clear where after a low center, Lucas Miguens he did not touch the ball almost below the left post of the rival goal. The steering wheel missed what was the tie.

Completed the initial 25 minutes, there was an intense process where Liniers did not retreat despite going down on the scoreboard. In search of the tie he left the spaces to San Lorenzo who sought to expand the advantage.

In those gaps, the Cyclone had another clear chance at 28 minutes and it was with an overflow of Franco Troyanski, who threw the center at mid-height and in the small area connected Oscar Romero (He returned to the title with his brother Ángel), but his attempt was covered by Díaz Peyrous, who began to become one of the figures in the match. The first half was over, which showed an interesting match at the La Feliz World Cup stadium. Although San Lorenzo was superior so far, his rival had a decent performance in the opening 45 minutes.


San Lorenzo: José Devecchi; Marcelo Herrera, Fabricio Coloccini, Alejandro Donatti and Gabriel Rojas; Óscar Romero, Lucas Menossi and Manuel Insaurralde; Ángel Romero, Alexander Díaz and Franco Troyanski. DT: Diego Dabove.

Liniers: Ignacio Díaz Peyrous; Rodrigo Di Motta, Thiago Monzón, Federico Potarski and Bruno Spitale; Ignacio Sallaberry, Marcelo Araujo, Lucas Miguens, Mateo Gridel; Franco Méndez and Willian Giménez. DT: Cesar Aguirre.

Court: José María Minella Stadium

Referee: Lucas Comesaña

TV: TyC Sports


The curious case of the footballer who agreed to his arrival at two clubs in Argentina and now negotiates with a third