Rafa Nadal, nominated for the Sportsmanship award by ATP players

The complete list of the ATP awards for this 2020 and the Spanish tennis player has already been released Rafa Nadal opts for the Sportsmanship award. It is the ATP players themselves who determine which tennis players are eligible for each of the awards. In addition, fans can also vote for their favorite player until December 11. The final result will be known throughout the month of December. Further, two other Spaniards compete for the award: Carlos Alcaraz and Fernando Vicente.

Rafa Nadal appears on the list of nominees for the Stefan Edberg Award for Sportsmanship in the awards of this edition of the ATP Awards. The Spanish tennis player has been designated by his own teammates on the circuit as a candidate to receive this outstanding mention for his values ​​on and off the court. The Spaniard competes with Diego Schwartzman, Dominic Thiem and John Millman, who have also been recognized for their exemplary behavior.

The other categories of ATP awards for players are Best Comeback of the Year, Best Progress of the Year and Breakthrough. In this last section there is another Spanish tennis player, Carlos Alcaraz, Juan Carlos Ferrero’s pupil and that in 2020 he has climbed several steps in the ATP ranking thanks to his several conquered Challengers.

Nadal, Carlos Alcaraz and Fernando Vicente, compete for the award

If Rafa Nadal and Carlos Alcaraz are the two Spanish tennis players who are competing for any of the ATP awards for this 2020, one more must be added to the coaches awards. This is the case of Fernando Vicente, Andrey Rublev’s coach, who this year entered the Masters Cup for the first time.

Fernando Vicente is opting for the Best Coach award, an award given to the ATP coach who has guided his players to a higher level of performance during the season. If in the awards to the players it is the tennis players themselves who designate the candidates, this time they are the coaches. The one from Benicarló shares a nomination with Juan Ignacio Chela, (Diego Schwartzman); Gilles Cervara (Daniil Medvedev), Nicolás Massú (Dominic Thiem) and Riccardo Piatti (Jannik Sinner).

Fans also choose their favorite

In addition, fans can also choose who their favorite player of the tournament is in an open vote until December 11. The winner will win the Fan Favorite Award. Finally, the ATP reserves the choice of the winner of the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award and Ron Bookman Excellence in Media Awards.

Complete list of candidates for the ATP Awards:

Return Of The Year: (For those who have overcome a long injury):

Kevin Anderson
Andrey Kuznetsov
Vasek Pospisil
Milos raonic

Biggest Progress Of The Year:

Ugo Humbert
Andrey Rublev
Diego schwartzman
Jannik Sinner

Breakthrough of the Year:

Carlos Alcaraz
Sebastian korda
Lorenzo Musetti
Jurij Rodionov
Emil ruusuvuori
Thiago Seyboth Wild

Stefan Edberg Award for Sportsmanship:

Rafael Nadal
John millman
Diego schwartzman
Dominic Thiem

ATP Coach of the Year:

Gilles Cervara (Daniil Medvedev)
Juan Ignacio Chela (Diego Schwartzman)
Nicolás Massú (Dominic Thiem)
Riccardo Piatti (Jannik Sinner)
Fernando Vicente (Andrey Rublev)