Norway crashes the Euro!

The European women’s handball championship, which was due to take place from December 3 to 20 in Norway and Denmark, is ultimately only due to take place in Denmark, as Norway has decided to give up, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Country king of women’s handball, Norway is forced to give up the co-organization of the European championship. 17 days before the kick-off of the Euro, the country indeed announced on Monday its inability to organize the competition (scheduled for December 3 to 20), due to health constraints linked to the coronavirus pandemic, and it is therefore Denmark, co-organizer, which should therefore host 100% of this Euro 2020.

“Based on the extensive assessments by the Norwegian health authorities, as well as the clear demands and wishes of the political authorities, it is clear that Norway cannot be the host of the European Women’s Handball Championship in December. In recent days, there has been an eventful meeting between the European Handball Federation (EHF), the Norwegian Handball Federation (NHF) and the Danish Handball Federation (DHF), with the aim of finding an alternative way to organize the championship. The parties are now working together to ensure that Denmark hosts the entire tournament, as far as it is practical and economical, ”the Norwegian Handball Federation said in a statement.

Norway had already revised its copy in September

Initially, three rooms were to host Euro matches in Norway, then the Federation decided in September that the meetings would ultimately only take place in one, in Trondheim, due to the pandemic. But ultimately, no Norwegian hall will receive any match. As for Denmark, they had to organize the matches in two halls, in Frederikshavn and Herning (two pools from the preliminary round and one pool from the main round).

Will they be able to host all matches, including the semi-finals, the small final and the final, which were to take place in Trondheim? We will find out very quickly. Recall that the French team, defending champion, must play its preliminary round matches in Herning, against Denmark, Montenegro and Slovenia. The top three teams will advance to the main round.