It’s almost won for Peterhansel

Second in the special behind Nasser Al-Attiyah, Stéphane Peterhansel keeps more than a quarter of an hour ahead of Qatari before the last stage.

Stéphane Peterhansel (Mini) will succeed in his bet. Thirty years after his first success in motorcycles (1991), “Monsieur Dakar”, 55 years old now, is on the way to clinching a historic 14th victory in the event, the 8th in a car. The record holder for success on the most famous rally-raid will set off on Friday for the 12th and last stage of this edition with such a comfortable lead that he can already consider that he has won the race, except for an incident of course on Friday, or a huge one. failure.

The Franc-Comtois did even better, in fact, than limiting the damage, Thursday on the penultimate layout (shortened due to the weather). Admittedly, he ended up cracking under the pressure of Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota), and gave up nearly two minutes at the finish on his Qatari rival and still runner-up in this general classification clearly dominated by the two men since the start. , but not more. Only Al-Attiyah can still dream of depriving Peterhansel of his 14th coronation on Friday. Unfortunately for the second in the standings, with a little more than a quarter of an hour late, it is a mission impossible.

11th stage cars – Al-Ula – Yanbu (598 km, including 464 km of special) – Thursday January 14, 2021
Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA / Toyota) in 4h34’24
Stéphane Peterhansel-Edouard Boulanger (FRA-FRA / Mini) at 1’56
Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP-ESP / Mini) at 2’26
4- Yazeed Al Rajhi-Dirk Von Zitzewitz (ARA-ALL / Toyota) at 4’02
5- Giniel De Villiers-Alex Bravo (AFS-ESP / Toyota) at 13’30

General car classification after 11 stages (out of 12)
1- Stéphane Peterhansel-Edouard Boulanger (FRA-FRA / Mini) in 42h09’26
Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA / Toyota) at 15’05
Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP-ESP / Mini) at 1h04’14
Jakub Przygonski-Timo Gottschalk (POL-ALL / Overdrive) at 2h32’24
5- Vladimir Vasilyev-Dmitro Tsyro (RUS-RUS / X-Raid) at 3h26’58