At the moment there are only 31 cars entered, but Roger Penske is convinced that he will get the two missing cars and maybe one more.

Roger Penske is working so that the Indianapolis 500 Miles, the first edition of the test under his mandate, is not the first in which the ‘quorum’, a grid of 33 cars, as tradition dictates, is not achieved.

As of today, there is only a list of 31 participants, Fernando Alonso included, but the Covid-19 has meant that the projects of some teams to align an extra car have not yet been completed.

Andretti Autosport will be the structure with the most cars on the track, no less than six, although divided into several teams. Penske adds a car to his usual three entries; ‘El Capitan’ always has Hélio Castroneves for the Indianapolis 500.

Penske hopes that the Juncos team will be able to close what would be the 32nd entry in the list these days, especially after the Argentine team has commissioned the update of their car to install the ‘aeroscreen’, mandatory this year and also that Dragon Speed ​​can line up Ben Hanley. He also does not forget the veterans Sébastien Bourdais, Oriol Servià or Stefan Wilson, perhaps Pippa Mann, who are working on his projects. And, of course, Arrow-McLaren-Schmidt Peterson, who will line up an extra car, for Fernando Alonso.

Meanwhile, the race program is already known, which will be, as already mentioned, with reduced capacity to just under 100,000 spectators, a quarter of normal and some events will be suppressed, including the traditional parade through the city , due to the situation.

There’s a significant schedule change. The race will start later than usual, at 14:30 local time, that is, at 20:30 CEST. The reason for this is the date: it is not the same to run in May than in August, it will be much hotter and, therefore, it is sought that the final part of the race is in cooler weather. Otherwise, the program is the same. The race can be followed live narrated on the Youtube channel of with the narration of Tomás Slafer and Jorge Iglesias, in the same way as in 2017.

Hostilities will begin on Tuesday, August 11, with two hours of testing for veterans and then two hours for newcomers and those who must go through the program to refresh their memory; Among the first, the rookies, will be Alex Palou.

Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, five consecutive hours of testing and the saturday 15, the action is already serious: an hour-long rehearsal, a ‘warm-up’, first thing –08: 30 local time– to make way from 11 am to the peculiar classification Indianapolis: For seven hours, rigorously and one by one, each driver will be entitled to at least one attempt of four laps thrown, with the possibility of giving up their time if they think it is not good enough and to try again by putting in the queue.

The best nine on Saturday will be played on Sunday in a superclassification of the first nine places on the grid. Previously, the ‘bump day’ will have been done; traditionally this serves for the unclassified to try to remove the occupants of the last row from the grid, but this year it is not wrong if it will be necessary. The day will close with an hour and 45 minutes of training.

The action will not resume until Friday 21, ‘Fast Friday’, two hours during which everyone will test the race configuration and leave the cars ready for Sunday. A Sunday that will have its parfernalia: at 17:55 CEST, the cars will be ready to leave. Three quarters of an hour later they will be placed on the grill. At 20:23 CEST the engines will start and will start to roll after the ‘pace car’ so that the green flag will fly on time at 20:30 CEST.


Andretti Autosport:

Zach Veach Alexander Rossi Ryan Hunter-Reay Colton Herta Marco Andretti James Hinchcliffe

Team Penske:

Josef Newgarden Will Power Simon Pagenaud Helio Castroneves

Chip Ganassi Racing:

Marcus Ericsson Scott Dixon Felix Rosenqvist

Arrow McLaren SP:

Patricio O’Ward Oliver Askew Fernando Alonso

A.J. Foyt Racing:

Charlie Kimball Tony Kanaan Dalton Kellett

Ed Carpenter Racing:

Ed Carpenter Rinus VeeKay Conor Daly

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing:

Graham Rahal Takuma Sato Spencer Pigot

Go Coyne Racing:

Santino Ferrucci Alex Palou

Meyer Shank Racing:


Dreyer and Reinbold Racing:

If you want to read more news like this visit our Flipboard