Hades wins Game of the Year award at the 2021 New York Game Awards

Editorial: Gaming / Facebook / Twitter / YouTube / Instagram / News / Discord / Forums

A few weeks ago, 2020 ended and we are in the season in which awards ceremonies are held to recognize the best of the video game industry during that year. One of these events was the one run by the New York Videogame Critics Circle, which just happened and which named the indie surprise of the year as the top winner.

We refer to Hades, the title developed and distributed by Supergiant Games that was officially released in 2020 (outside of Early Access). As we told you a few weeks ago, this game received 6 nominations and surprisingly was victorious in 5 of them, among which the Big Apple Award (Game of the Year) stands out. The only non-award nomination was the Statue of Liberty Award for Best World.

Find out: What is a Sneakerhead and why could Reebok x Tom & Jerry make one for you?

Hades was the most awarded game at the Ney York Game Awards

The great absentee of the night was definitely The Last of Us: Part II, because together with Final Fantasy VII Remake it had 5 nominations and was emerging as a favorite to at least win the best performance by Abby (Laura Bailey) or Ellie (Ashley Jonson), but the award went to Hades, for the multiple roles that Logan Cunninham had.

Final Fantasy VII Remake also had the same number of nominations, but managed to win the Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake. Games like Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Genshin Impact, Ghost of Tsushima and Half-Life: Alyx also got 1 prize. No other game was victorious more than once, apart from Hades.

One thing you should know is that the New York Videogame Critics Circle is made up of industry critics, writers, reporters, and a group of journalists from video game outlets, such as TIME, The Washington Post, PC Gamer, and many more. You can see all the members on this page.

We leave you with the list of winners below.

Best Game of the Year (Big Apple Award)

Animal Crossing: New Horizons The Last of Us: Part II Final Fantasy VII Remake DOOM Eternal Yakuza: Like A Dragon

Best Game for Children (Central Park Children’s Zoo)

WINNER: Animal Crossing: New HorizonsMoving Out Good Job! Drake Hollow Sackboy: A Big Adventure Astro’s Playroom

Best Mobile Game (A-Train Award)

Roundguard Necrobarista Creaks Little Orpheus Good Sudoku
WINNER: Genshin ImpactWide Ocean Big Jacket

Best AR / VR Game (Coney Island Dreamland Award)

WINNER: Half-Life: AlyxWalking Dead: Saints & Sinners Dreams Paper Beast Star Wars Squadrons

Best Indie Game (Off Broadway Award)

Ori and the Will of the Wisps The Longing: Patience
WINNER: HadesFall Guys Spiritfarer Umurangi Generation

Best Music in a Game (Tin Pan Alley Award)

Animal Crossing: New Horizons Final Fantasy VII Remake The Last of Us: Part II Teenage Blob
WINNER: HadesMarvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales Fuser Ghost of Tsushima

Best World (Statue of Liberty Award)

WINNER: Ghost of TsushimaAssassin’s Creed: Valhalla Final Fantasy VII Remake Microsoft Flight Simulator Hades Umarangi Generation Demon’s Souls Cyberpunk 2077 (for PC)

Best Narrative (Herman Melville Award)

The Last of Us: Part II If Found Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla
WINNER: HadesMarvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales Cyberpunk 2077 (for PC) Treachery in Beatdown City

Best Performance in a Game (Great White Way Award)

Laura Bailey as Abby in The Last of Us: Part II Ashley Johnson as Ellie in The Last of Us: Part II Briana White as Aerith in Final Fantasy VII Remake August Aiden as Tyler Ronan in Tell Me Why
WINNER: Logan Cunningham as Lord Hades / Poseidon / Achilles / Charon / the narrator / Asterius in HadesNadji Jeter as Miles Morales in Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales Keanu Reeves as Johnny Silverhand in Cyberpunk 2077

Best Remake (Freedom Tower Award)

WINNER: Final Fantasy VII: RemakeResident Evil 3 Mr. Driller: DrillLand Black Mesa Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2 Demon’s Souls

Best Esports Team (Captain Award)

DAMWOM Gaming San Francisco Shock
WINNER: Red Bull OGDallas Empire TSM

Best Esports Game (Shea Stadium Award)

Street fighter league
WINNER: Overwatch LeagueWorlds (League of Legends) IEM Katowice Final Kombat (Mortal Kombat 11)

Best Video Game Journalism (Knickerbocker Award)

Maddy myers
WINNER: Jason SchreierNicole Carpenter Emanuel Maiberg Kazuma Hashimoto Claire L. Evans Zoyander Street Ewan Morgan

In case you missed it: Hades is the best game of 2020 for TIME magazine.

What did you think of this award? Did you think Hades would be the most awarded game of this event? Tell us in the comments.

Since we are talking about Hades, we take the opportunity to tell you that it could be on its way to Xbox Game Pass. On the other hand, we inform you that it was the best game according to Steam user reviews and that it was the most downloaded indie game on the Nintendo eShop in 2020.

Hades is available on Nintendo Switch and PC (via PC and Epic Games Store). You can find more about this indie if you visit his file.

Stay informed with us at LEVEL UP.