EuroBasket 2022: Scariolo’s surprising list for the qualifiers

Sergio Scariolo offered the first preliminary list of summoned for the qualifiers for the Eurobasket 2022. World champions Javier Beirán, Quino Colom and Xavi Rabaseda lead a team that will face Israel and Romania next week in Valencia, in matches that will be played in bubble format.

The definitive 13-player roster will be announced by the national coach before Monday, once the results of all the mandatory health tests are known and the availability of all of them is confirmed, according to the FEB. The final members of the team will meet in Valencia on Monday at noon to pass the last sanitary controls before starting training.

This ‘window’ will be held in a ‘bubble’ format with special health security measures, and both the training sessions and the matches will be set at the Fonteta facilities. Spain will face Israel (Saturday 28) and Romania (Monday 30) in Valencia at 7.30 pm, closing both days.

In the original calendar, Spain was to travel to Israel and receive Romania. In the first two days of this qualifying round, held last February, Spain beat Romania in Cluj Napoca (71-84) and fell to Poland in Zaragoza (69-80). The group’s classification is led by Israel, who won their two games, and closed by Romania, who lost both.

The technical team, led by Scariolo, will be made up of Luis Guil, Joaquín Prado, Jorge Lorenzo, Manolo Aller (assistant coaches), Enrique Salinas (physical trainer), Carlos Salas (doctor), José Antonio Hernández, Jordan Sospedra (physiotherapists), Alberto Pérez (delegate) and David Ortega (material).

The summoned

BASES: Ferran Bassas (Joventut Badalona), Quino Colom (Valencia Basket) and Alberto Díaz (Unicaja).

FOREIGNERS: Javier Beirán (Herbalife Gran Canaria), Xabi López-Aróstegui (Joventut Badalona), Darío Brizuela (Unicaja), Francis Alonso (Unicaja), Oriol Paulí (MoraBanc Andorra), Jonathan Barreiro (Casademont Zaragoza), Xavi Rabaseda (Hereda San Pablo Burgos) and Miquel Salvó (Inheritance of San Pablo Burgos).

INTERIORS: Víctor Arteaga (Movistar Estudiantes), Rubén Guerrero (Unicaja), Nacho Llovet (MoraBanc Andorra), Tyson Pérez (MoraBanc Andorra) and Alex Suárez (Monbus Obradoiro).