El Cardassar, from the floods to Atlético | sports

Before the last edition of the Copa del Rey has finished (the Athletic-Real Sociedad final is pending), this year the tournament starts with a first round in which 112 teams participate. The qualifying rounds will begin on December 16 with a single match, always in the field of the lower division club. Real Madrid and Barcelona, ​​champions and runners-up in the League, and Athletic and Real Sociedad, finalists of the Cup, are exempt from participating in this round when they play the Spanish Super Cup.

The First Division teams were mostly matched with Third Division clubs, but also Preferente and Second B. The standout match among all is Atlético de Madrid against Cardassar, in the third category. The Majorcans suffered the floods of a couple of years ago on the island and their field was totally impractical, in addition to losing a lot of material due to the rains. The very survival of the club was in danger, but they have managed to recover from that disaster and have celebrated that their rival is Simeone’s team.

Another attractive crossover is the Andalusian duel between Sevilla and Ciudad de Lucena, from the province of Córdoba. The modest Buñol (Valencia), Rincón (Málaga) and Tomares (Sevilla), from Preferente, will face Elche, Alavés and Osasuna, respectively. The buñolenses will be able to celebrate their centenary against a First Division in their stadium, although there may not be an audience in the stands. For their part, UCAM Murcia and Leioa (Bilbao), are the Second B teams that will face first, Betis and Villarreal.

The remaining 42 matches of this first round are made up of the rest of the Second Division, Second B teams and those classified in the preliminary rounds. The Mirandés, revelation team of the last edition, in which they reached the semifinals after eliminating three First teams (Celta, Sevilla and Villarreal), start this Cup against Las Rozas, a modest Madrid team that was saved from relegation to Third on last year thanks to the cancellation of the pandemic competition.

Last season it served to show that the one-game format gives smaller teams more opportunities to surprise, although this year they cannot count on the support of their fans. In the next round, on January 6, Madrid, Barça, Real Sociedad and Athletic will enter.

All clashes

Anaitasuna – Getafe

Marchamalo – Huesca

Ribadumia – Cádiz

Racing Murcia – Levant

Buñol – Elche.

Tomares – Osasuna

Racing Rioja – Eibar

Cardassar – Atlético de Madrid

Rincon – Deportivo Alavés

Cantolagua – Real Valladolid

Llanera – Celta

San Juan – Granada

Terrassa – Valencia

UCAM Murcia – Real Betis

City of Lucena – Seville

Leioa – Villarreal

Varea – UD Las Palmas

Segovian Gymnastics – Girona

Las Rozas – CD Mirandés

Atlético Pulpileño – Lugo

Ourense – Leganés

Coria – Real Oviedo

Gymnastics of Torrelavega – Real Zaragoza

Quintanar del Rey – Sporting de Gijón

Teruel – Rayo Vallecano

Sestao – Tenerife

Llagostera Costa Brava – Espanyol

Ibiza Pitiusas Islands – Sabadell

Atlético Baleares – Fuenlabrada

Coruxo – Malaga

Portugalete – Ponferradina

Guijuelo – Mallorca

Pontevedra – Cartagena

Amorebieta – UD Logroñés

L’Hospitalet – Almeria

San Fernando Isleño – Castellón

Loyalty of Villaviciosa – Alcorcón

Cordoba – Albacete

Haro – Balompédica Linense

Marino – Cornellá

Numancia – Lorca

Deportivo Coruña – El Ejido 2012

Burgos – Andorra

Peña Deportiva – Tarazona

Ibiza Eivissa – Compostela

Poblense – Olot

Cultural Leonesa – Villanovense

Extremadura – Socuéllamos

DUX International Madrid – Linares

Navalcarnero – Badajoz

Alcoyano – Laredo.

Calahorra – La Nucía.

Zamora – SD Logroñés.

Rayo Majadahonda – Yeclano

Mutilvera – Racing de Santander

Marbella – Lleida