The United Kingdom will again impose a fourteen-day quarantine for travelers from Spain. This has been confirmed by the Scottish Government, to an extent that extends to all the British Isles.

Spain will be removed from the list of countries exempt from quarantine requirements due to a higher number of coronavirus cases in the last days. The decision, also made by the delegated administrations in Northern Ireland and Wales, as well as by the Government of the United Kingdom, was made to reduce the risk of transmission of the virus by those traveling from Spain“, indicate from the Scottish government.

The measure will take effect this morning, and it is expected that in the next few hours Boris Johnson, British Prime Minister, ratify this decision. In mid-June the UK made the decision to impose a quarantine for returning British travelers, but after pressure from the tourism sector they made a list of countries that were exempt, a list that is now left out of Spain.

Still on the way to France, Norway and Belgium

UK thus becomes the fourth European country to take measures against the increase in infections in Spain. France advises its citizens not to travel to Catalonia, Belgium recommends quarantine to those who return from certain areas of the Spanish geography (Aragon, Extremadura, La Rioja and the Basque Country, in addition to Huesca and Lérida), while Norway has imposed an isolation of ten days.