Coronavirus | Puente de la Constitución: which communities have closed and which have not yet?

The Minister of Health, Salvador Illa, defined yesterday the trend of the epidemiological situation in Spain with the following words: “downward stabilization”. However, as much as the incidents accumulated in the last 14 days are decreasing in most of the country, the minister himself insisted that you had to “stay alert” because the situation could change very quickly.

In this sense, Five autonomous communities have already ensured that their borders will close during the Constitution Bridge, establishing, in this way, a perimeter confinement in which the entry and exit movements in each of the regions will be controlled. The rest of the autonomies have not yet spoken, but it is expected that some more will be added to this list.

It should be remembered that, according to Royal Decree 926/2020, of October 25, by which the state of alarm was declared, they are The autonomous communities are those that have the powers to apply mobility restrictions on the borders with other regions or within their own autonomy. From the declaration of the alarm state There are only four communities that have not restricted mobility between other regions and yours: Galicia, Extremadura, the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands. However, limitations have been applied in some cities belonging to these autonomous communities, as is the case of Lugo or La Coruña.

Communities that have already closed

Currently there five autonomous communities that, for the moment, have announced their closure for the Constitution Bridge: Asturias, the Basque Country, Navarra, Castilla-La Mancha and the Valencian Community.

This group of regions can be divided into two types: those that have already announced the date on which the perimeter confinement ends and those that have not. The first is the case of Comunidad Valenciana and Navarra, where the closure will be in effect until December 9 and 18, respectively. Asturias, the Basque Country and Castilla-La Mancha have not commented on the matter, but in the three communities there are restrictions since the end of October and, even, mobility between municipalities within the community itself is limited. For this reason, the closure during the Constitution Bridge seems assured.

Similar is the case of Melilla and Ceuta, where the restrictions have been approved since October 29 and 30, respectively. According to the newspaper 20minutos, they will also be closed during the holiday.

The rest of the autonomies

The situation in the rest of the autonomous communities is very uneven. There are autonomous communities such as the Canary Islands or the Balearic Islands where possibly, unless the situation changes drastically, there is no perimeter confinement on these dates. Regarding the situation in Galicia and Extremadura, the other two autonomous regions where there have been no perimeter closures, there are no direct references that suggest that they may occur between December 4 and 8.

On the other hand, there are regions where the closure of the region is established until a few days before the beginning of the Constitution Bridge. This is the case of Andalusia (November 23), Aragon (November 30), Cantabria (December 2), Castilla y León (December 3), La Rioja (November 29) and Murcia (November 23). In any case, Regional institutions are expected to speak about it in the coming days.

Catalonia and Madrid

Catalonia drew up a perimeter confinement plan that included limited indoor mobility on weekends. These restrictions possibly continue during the Constitution Bridge, since the closure of autonomy is in force until December 21.

Madrid it closed its borders during the two bridges held in November (Puente de Todos los Santos and Puente de la Virgen de la Almudena). So it would not be surprising if he made the same decision for the December holidays. It will be tomorrow, Friday, November 20, when, at a press conference, the final decision is communicated.